Luke 5:16

Tested in the Fire

You have faith in God, whose power will protect you until the last day. Then he will save you, just as he has always planned to do. On that day you will be glad, even if you have to go through many hard trials for a while. Your faith will be like gold that has been tested in a fire. And these trials will prove that your faith is worth much more than gold that can be destroyed. They will show that you will be given praise and honor and glory when Jesus Christ returns.

1 Peter 1:5-7 CEV

We are destined for glory.  An amazing thought for those of us who feel as though the struggles of life and the failures that we’ve committed must surely separate us from God.  And the truth is, they do.  But I’ve always tried to rely on the thought that “when we are far from God, it is we that have turned away.”  I have no idea who said that first.  Perhaps it was on a bookmark or a bumper sticker from the Christian Bookstore.  But, no matter, it definitely rings true in my life.  When struggles come, and temptations begin to take hold of my thoughts, I often forget to capture them and turn back to God to be my strength and direction in the situation.  I forget to let his Holy Spirit be my holy spirit.

But there is hope, as this passage from 1 Peter tells us.  There will be trials, there will be struggles, there will be temptations.  But as those things come and go, and we are faithful to God for his guidance and healing, our faith continues to be refined like “gold in the fire.”  And when it’s all said and done, the gold analogy doesn’t even do justice to the reward that we will receive in Christ as heirs together with him in the Kingdom of God.  Our faith will be more valuable than any earthly resource…even gold.  And we will be rewarded for that obedience and faith.

Praise God that we have hope in him!  Let the trials come and do not be afraid, stand firm in your faith, turn to God as your source of all strength, and be refined in the fire.

One response

  1. Karl

    A word comes to my mind reading this:
    NIV Psalms 31:22 In my alarm I said, “I am cut off from your sight!” Yet you heard my cry for mercy when I called to you for help.
    I am from Sweden, and NIV is the only english translation I have access to. From the swedish translation I usually read it uses words that to me is stronger. freely translated: In my anxiety I said, I am driven away from you, yet you heard the sounds of my prayers, shouting for you.
    If you read verse 10, you see that the anxiety is a result of his affliction, or missdeed.
    As a little comfort for all of you who sometimes mess things up through sin. It’s not ok, that’s not what I’m saying. But if you have the heart like David had, to realize the mess, and most important of all, realize the fact that you are responsible. Then know this, the Lord still hears you, and the Lord also said: Ask and I shall give.
    Fighting the problems and temptations in my life, this is my greatest comfort, that he hears my cry for freedom, and the fact that I will get it, cause he already paid the prise. Praise Jesus!!

    12/13/2009 at 6:12 pm

Leave a Reply

