Luke 5:16

Are you calling God a liar?

This is the message we heard from Jesus and now declare to you: God is light, and there is no darkness in him at all. So we are lying if we say we have fellowship with God but go on living in spiritual darkness; we are not practicing the truth. But if we are living in the light, as God is in the light, then we have fellowship with each other, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, cleanses us from all sin.
If we claim we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and not living in the truth. But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness. If we claim we have not sinned, we are calling God a liar and showing that his word has no place in our hearts. ~1 John 1:5-10~

Ever been afraid of the dark?  As a child I remember having to leave the light on in order to go to sleep because it was just too dark in my room.  The light proved to me that things weren’t going to creep out of my closet or from under my bed.  It softened my fears, it calmed my nerves, it comforted me.  Somehow the light always got turned off by morning.  So, if I woke up in the middle of the night, I didn’t have the light to show me the actual state of affairs in my room.  So, of course, I would have to call mom or dad into the room to reassure me that everything was okay, and if I was fearful of strange creatures in the closet or furry monsters under the bed, they would always turn on the light to show me that everything was okay, and I would drift back to sleep.

Think about this, though.  If I didn’t let mom or dad turn the light on in my room, and still insisted that there were alien beings and possessed dolls surrounding me, then wouldn’t I, in essence, be calling my parents liars?  If I didn’t give up control of my own thoughts and rely on their reassurance, and allow them to bring all things “into the light,” I would most certainly be deceived and not able to understand the truth.

So it is in our spiritual lives.

We, as humans, are not perfect, nor do we understand the full truth of God’s creation or purpose in our lives.  We are deceived by Satan to believe that we are powerless and meaningless, and through this deception, we are tempted and, most often, we sin by giving into that temptation and the lies that Satan puts in our minds.  But our Father, God, is light.  He sheds understanding on the lies and brings clarity in the tempting situations, and he calls us to bring our sins into that light.  We are fooling ourselves if we keep believing that we can live in fellowship with God, and with other Christians, while continuing to believe Satan’s lies and give in to his temptations.  We are calling God a liar if we continue to live that way.

Jesus says “I am the light of the world.  If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life” (John 8:12).  Being a follower of Christ is like sleeping with the light on.  We can be secure and unafraid because Christ is there to guide us and his Holy Spirit reassures us that we are “more than conquerors” over the things that creep in the dark.

Leave a Reply

