Luke 5:16

Reflections on Advent // Looking to the Future

Advent this year, for me, was definitely a season of preparation and looking towards the coming of Christ.  On a very personal level, God used his perfect timing to use this year’s Advent season to begin a process within me of transformation and renewal.  He’s been breaking me down and reformulating my life: heart, soul, mind, and strength.  It’s the beginning of a process that, for myself, I have dubbed The Metamorphosis Project.  Let me point out a few things and then discuss my plans (or rather, God’s plans) for 2010.

  1. November 28 (the day before the first Sunday of Advent) marked the beginning of the end of a habit/addiction/struggle that I have been battling for years.
  2. My grandmother passed away on December 4 (two days before the second Sunday of Advent) which has changed the world of my family and my perspective on many things.
  3. I got a free copy of Primal: A Search for the Lost Soul of Christianity by Mark Batterson on December 9 (four days before the third Sunday of Advent) which I have been reading ever since.  It has resounded in my brain for weeks, and it is bringing together so many thoughts of my own ministry and lifestyle.
  4. I truly believe something special was supposed to happen this Christmas because the weekend of the fourth Sunday of Advent, we had planned to do Random Acts of Christmas to spread the unconditional love of Christ in our community, and we were thwarted by the biggest snowstorm in 15 years in the Valley.

These are only a few examples of the incredible things that have been happening in my life just in the last 5 weeks.  God is so much at work in me, that it’s stifling and extremely hard to explain!

Now, looking forward to 2010…

The first thing I plan to do is write a Life Equity Plan which outlines specific goals for the nine life equities (spiritual, physical, family, financial, career & calling, contribution, character, education, experiences).  These will be my personal and professional goals for this coming year.  I intend to share my plan on this blog and continue to update you on the goals that are being met.  In addition to that, I plan to continue to use this blog as an outlet for my own devotional thoughts and reflections throughout the year, and I hope that it can continue to be a inspiration to many.

I hope that you will join me in rethinking your life for the coming year.  Don’t just make “resolutions,” make changes.  Let God be the Creator and Re-creator in your life.  Allow him to determine the path down which you will walk in the coming year, and be “transformed by the renewing of your mind” (http://read.ly/Rom12.2.NIV).

I’d love to hear how you plan to be transformed in 2010.  Please leave me a comment so that I can pray for you and I hope that each of you reading this would be in prayer for me as well.  It’s not going to be easy, but it’s going to be an adventure like no other!

Much love!  <><

K

One response

  1. Pingback: Digging Deeper « My Lonely Place

Leave a Reply

