Luke 5:16

What, Me Worry?

Alfred_E._NeumannI’m not a worry-wart, but there are things that concern me.  One thing that has me worried right now is this: are we, as a small home “church”, doing things right and/or are we doing right things?  One of the issues that has come up is the idea of mission.  We all agree that we should be missional in our approach to the community and to the world.  However, where should that start?  Do we latch on to pre-established organizations?  Do we start something new in our area?  Should our reach extend globally, or should we only remain local?  As with many of the questions that surface and revolve around doing something so new and radical, most of the time I only have one option: pray!

So, yesterday, I sat down, and I prayed.  I asked God to just give me something to go on…help me make a decision…and this is what I got:

Seek the Kingdom of Gods above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

~~Matthew 6:33 (NLT) ~~

The Ministry Perspective

Now I know we’ve heard this many times in relation to God’s provision for our personal lives, but how does it apply to ministry?  Here are my thoughts:

  1. It goes back to my worrying about doing right things and doing things right.  As long as I’m earnestly seeking God’s will and God’s direction, both of those will fall into place.
  2. I don’t think this only applies in a materialistic sense.  God will supply the blessing, God will supply the right opportunities.  God will supply.

Seeking the Kingdom

So how do we go about seeking God’s Kingdom as a group of modern disciples?  I think it begins by our intentions to operate as a community of faith modeled after Christ and his original followers.  It relies on our willingness to minister to one another in sincerity and truth (1 Cor. 5:8).  And it hinges on whether we seek approval from the world or live as a light to the world, so that God, alone, may be glorified by our good works (Matt. 5:16, Matt. 6:1).

“Build me a house”

As I was praying, God not only gave me the scripture I mentioned, but he spoke to me.  “Build me a house where I can dwell among my people, and all these blessing will be added to you,” He said.  What?!  Build God a house?  What does that have to do with mission or discipleship?  I thought we were trying to move away from building just another church and then walling ourselves up inside of it.  But then, I remembered, we are not only the temple of God as individuals, but we, as a collective, are the temple where God’s spirit dwells on earth.  It is we, as a group of disciples, as a community of faith, who are creating the temple by developing our relationships with one another, by holding each other accountable to living out the Gospel, by encouraging each other as we live life together.

My Resolve

So, what is my response?  I will dedicate myself to God and to the group.  Not to the mission, not to the study, not to the songs, not to the place, but to the relationship that we have with one another as a dwelling place for God’s Spirit.  I will seek to do my part to build each other up, to encourage each other in love, to walk humbly with one another, and to reach our potential as followers of Christ.  Those other things that go along with ministry…they’ll come.  God will provide.  And if we are dedicated to one another and we seek to give love unconditionally to the “insiders” and the “outsiders,” then God will bless us with opportunity and influence.

Leave a Reply

