Luke 5:16

Humble

Oh Lord, it’s hard to be humble, when you’re perfect in every way.

~Mac Davis~

We think we have it all figured out.  We go to church, we go to bible study, we do mission work…things are good.  Life is good.  We get along with our husbands and wives, our children love us and appreciate us.  Things are just perfect.

So, then, why aren’t we changing the world?  Can’t everyone else see how good we’ve got it?  Why aren’t we getting all those ministry opportunities, or promotions, or notoriety that we long for?  And what about those things that nobody really knows about?  You know, the secret addictions, the obsessions, the thoughts, the worries that we don’t share with the world.  Why don’t they dissipate and vanish like the Statue of Liberty at the hands of David Copperfield?

It’s because we are not humble.  Not to say that we’re arrogant or boastful or make ourselves out to be superior to anyone else (but sometimes we are…), but we’re not humble before the most important person: God!

So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor. Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you. Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. Stand firm against him, and be strong in your faith. Remember that your Christian brothers and sisters all over the world are going through the same kind of suffering you are.

~1 Peter 5:6-9~

Be Humble

Stay humble before God.  Rely on his timing.  Don’t worry, just trust.  Part of the definition of humble is “ranking low in a hierarchy or scale: insignificant, unpretentious.”   Don’t read this as meaning we are insignificant to God, because we’re not.  But in the scheme of things, we rank much lower than he does.  We don’t need to know or understand his methods, we just need to be willing to listen and be obedient to his direction.  We need to make our own intentions and desires insignificant to his plan.  It’s not about us.  Be humble.

Stay Alert!

And while you’re staying humble, stay alert!  The Devil is just waiting for a chance to attack us, and he’ll probably do it when we’re most vulnerable. Lately, I’ve been wondering how God is working in my life.  I’ve been wondering where he’s taking me and what, exactly, he’s telling me to do.  And during this time, I’ve been trying to remain a humble servant, going with the flow.  But Satan has been making waves!  Giving up the control over my calling and my ministry has made me uncomfortable.  I want control, I want to understand and analyze all the situations that I’m involved in.  So the Devil sneaks in and gives me opportunities to be in control of something.  He whispers in my ear “it’s not wrong if you don’t get caught.”  He prowling around like a lion.

Stand Firm

Don’t keep it to yourself.  We must be humble before God, but if we’re ever to realize that we’re all in this together, then we must be willing to be humble before one another, too.  Not arrogant, not macho, not “nothing bothers me,” not “I’m fine.”  True humility comes when we can say to one another, “I’m worried, I’m scared, I’m struggling, I’m not fine.”  Give your worries and cares over to God, but make those closest to you aware of what those things are so they can be in prayer for you.  Start the conversation so they can stay up to date with how things are going.  This is true friendship and true discipleship.

Just for fun, here’s the song:

Leave a Reply

