Luke 5:16

Renewal

My walk with Christ has become so strong lately!  Since December (which I wrote about here) there have been some major changes happening in my life and my spirit.

But, over the last couple of weeks, I’ve felt far from God.

What I’ve realize, though, is this…  It’s not him who has moved or forsaken me.  It’s me.

As I reflect on my thoughts and actions over the past few weeks, I’ve begun to make more and more excuses (mostly to myself) for not spending time in devotion and prayer.  I’ve started allowing my own personal discipline to slip, allowing me to think and speak and act in ways that I, myself, find unacceptable.  I’ve spent less time reflecting on where God can be found in my life and more time working under my own will-power.

One other thing…

I’m moving closer and closer to where I feel God is calling me as a leader.  The job description for the full-time ministry position at my church, which is what I feel God calling me to, was finalized and approved just last night, and I will be submitting my resume this week.  Because of that, I think Satan is trying to distract me.  The problem is, he’s succeeding!

So, what do I need to do?

Pray:

Create in me a pure heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.

Restore to me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

~Psalm 51:10-12 NIV~

Study:

Your word is a lamp to guide my feet
and a light for my path.
I’ve promised it once, and I’ll promise it again:
I will obey your righteous regulations.
I have suffered much, O Lord ;
restore my life again as you promised.
Lord , accept my offering of praise,
and teach me your regulations.
My life constantly hangs in the balance,
but I will not stop obeying your instructions.
The wicked have set their traps for me,
but I will not turn from your commandments.
Your laws are my treasure;
they are my heart’s delight.
I am determined to keep your decrees
to the very end.

~Psalm 119:105-112 NLT~

Trust:

God’s discipline is always good for us, so that we might share in his holiness. No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening—it’s painful! But afterward there will be a peaceful harvest of right living for those who are trained in this way.
So take a new grip with your tired hands and strengthen your weak knees. Mark out a straight path for your feet so that those who are weak and lame will not fall but become strong.

~Hebrews 12:10b-13 NLT~

Please pray for me as my life in Christ continues to grow and blossom.  I pray for each of you, hoping that your struggles are few and your joys are abundant!  And as brothers and sisters in Christ, I pray for us, as one, that we might support and renew one another as we experience it all together.

And the next time we see each other, please don’t hesitate to ask me how I’m doing…I need it….

Leave a Reply

